Copyright Bromsgrove Flower Club

All rights reserved.

Andrew Lloyd

February 20th 2020

Andrew Lloyd - “At the Turn of the Year”

We were delighted to welcome 37 members and 23 visitors to our first meeting of the year, with the ever-popular Andrew Lloyd, whose demonstration was called “At the Turn of the Year”.  Andrew entertained us with his usual amusing anecdotes, and made several beautiful designs using spring flowers which some of our members were lucky enough to win and take home. Andrew kindly gave us his permission to post all of his designs. Worcester Branch of Acorns, our local children's hospice, was one of two charities we decided to support this year. After speaking to them they kindly agreed to send a representative along to our meeting to give a brief account of Acorns and receive our cheque for 150. Carol Pratt received the donation and gave an excellent briefing of the work at Acorns. Many a tear could be seen! At the same time a group of five ladies called The Crafty Crafter's who make toys, Christmas gifts, decorations and much more presented their cheque to Acorns for 1000 at the same time. Two members of Crafty Crafter's belong to our flower club, so it fitted in well. They had visited our club in November and sold some of their wares. Carol received one of the competition flower arrangements as a thank you.                                    

Next month a representative is coming to receive our other chosen charity donation of 150 from our local branch of Ovarian Cancer Action. Again one of our club members is involved in this charity, she and a colleague will be receiving the donation. They are also going to give us an insight into their charity.

February Competition Results:

Flower Arranging:

“Love is in the Air”

Advanced Class

1st - Maureen Westwood

2nd - Debbie Clarke

3rd - Angela Harvey

Intermediate Class

1st - Ros Acton

Novice Class

1st - Diana Glendenning

2nd - Sue Wheeler

Flower of the Month:

1st - Angela Harvey

2nd - Debbie Clarke

3rd - Janet Bourne

Congratulations to all the winners!